The Old City of Jerusalem, Holy City and a World Heritage Site


The Old City of Jerusalem is also known as Baitul Maqdis or Al-Quds. Within Old City Jerusalem, there are many holy sites for Muslims, Christians and Jews. - The Old City of Jerusalem is the Old City which is registered as a UNESCO World Heritage Site at the suggestion of Jordan. This place is surrounded by a wall within the East Jerusalem area Jerusalem City covering an area of ​​0.9 square kilometers (0.35 sq mi).

Old City is in the center Jerusalem City, on the plateau Judean Mountains, adjacent to the Mount of Olives (east) and Mount Scopus (northeast).

The Old City District of Jerusalem is divided into four regions, namely the Muslim Section, the Jewish Section (in blue), the Christian Section, and the Armenian Section (which is also predominantly Christian).

Old City is also known as Baitul Maqdis or Al-Quds. Within the Old City of Jerusalem, there are many holy sites for Muslims, Christians and Jews.

In the southeast corner of Old Jerusalem there is the Al-Aqsa Mosque complex, in which there is a Dome of the Rock and Jami 'Al-Aqsa, and in the corner mosque there is a Wailing Wall.

Abdullah ibn Umar, a friend of the Prophet Muhammad, an expert on hadith and jurisprudence, said: "Baitul Maqdis is the place where the Prophets and their gathering to worship. There is not an inch of land in that place that is not used for prayer by the Prophets or the Angels".

In the past, this city was repeatedly captured, conquered, destroyed and rebuilt by various parties, and it was as if every layer of the earth revealed various pieces of past history.

The center of Jerusalem is part Old City, a maze of narrow alleys and historic architecture that marks the four corners of the city --Christian, Muslim, Jewish and Armenian regions, surrounded by stone walls that form fortresses on which some of the world's holiest sites are found.

Each region represents its own population. Christians have two regions, because Armenians are also Christian. This region of Armenia, the smallest four, is one oldest Armenian centers in the world.

Al-Aqsa Mosque and Dome of As-Shakrah

The Muslim area is the largest four and contains the shrine Dome of the Rock and the al-Aqsa Mosque in the highlands known to Muslims as Haram al -Sharif.

The mosque, which is managed by a waqf institution, is the third holiest place in Islam after the Grand Mosque in Mecca and the Prophet's Mosque in Medina.

Muslims believe that the Prophet Muhammad SAW came to this Aqsa Mosque from Mecca on the night journey of Isra Miraj, and prayed and prayed with the spirits prophets.

A few steps from the mosque, is the Dome of As-Shakrah which contains the foundation stone which is believed by Muslims to be the place where Muhammad went to heaven in the Isra Miraj incident.  

Church Holy Sepulcher

Within the Christian Area is the Church Holy Sepulcher, an important pilgrimage site for Christians around the world. It is located in a very important location in the story of Jesus: his death, crucifixion and resurrection.

In common Christian tradition, Jesus was crucified there, on the hill of Golgotha, or the hill of Calvary, and his tomb is located in the burial structure which is also believed to be the site of his resurrection.

The Church Holy Sepulcher is jointly managed by representatives of different Christian denominations, especially the Greek Orthodox Patriarchate, Franciscan friars Roman Catholic Church and the Armenian Patriarchate, as well as Ethiopian, Coptic and Syrian Orthodox Christians.

This place is one main pilgrimage destinations for hundreds of millions of Christians around the world who visit the empty tomb of Jesus and seek redemption in prayer at the location.

Kotel or Wailing Wall

In the Jewish Quarter there is a Kotel, or Wailing Wall, or Western Wall, a remnant wall where the ancient Temple was founded. Inside the holy place is the Most Holy Room, the holiest site in Judaism.

The Jews believe that this is the place where the foundation stone creation of the world is, and where Abraham, or Prophet Abraham, was ready to sacrifice his son Isaac, or Ishmael.

Many Jews believe that the Dome of the Rock is where the Most Holy Place is. Today, the Western Wall is where Jews can pray at the closest location to the Most Holy Hall.

The site is maintained by the Rabbi Western Wall and annually hosts millions of visitors. Jews from all over the world visit this place to pray. (as/ip)

Buka Komentar
Tutup Komentar
No comments:
Write comment

Siapapun boleh berkomentar, tetapi dengan cara yang bijaksana dan bertanggung jawab. Berkomentarlah dengan nama yang jelas dan bukan spam agar tidak dihapus. Komentar sepenuhnya menjadi tanggung jawab individu komentator seperti yang diatur dalam UU ITE (Undang-Undang Informasi dan Transaksi Elektronik) maupun perundang-undangan yang berlaku.

Back to Top